Day 20-Happiness is … like a tea tray in the sky

Standard

  “Sanity and happiness are an impossible combination- Mark Twain

Mad Hatter tea party table

My watch is two days slow and I’ve been busy trying to figure out why a raven is like a writing desk. Naturally it follows then that I was 3 days behind on my blogging just yesterday.

Don’t believe me? You’re not trying hard enough. Why, sometimes, I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast. Practice it now.

Today was my unbirthday. Chances are it was yours, too! Isn’t it nice we have that in common? I’m quite certain I couldn’t imagine a nicer thought than to share an unbirthday with so many people.

The unbirthday party started at 6pm. That’s significant…or perhaps it’s unimportant. Never mind – have some wine.

Honoured guests wore stripes, their best party hats (or tea cozy) and, of course, indoor croquet shoes.

Adding to the nonsense was the footman’s announcement, “Be it known that by order of her majesty the Queen, the words ‘I’ and ‘me’ are banned and anyone caught uttering them must ‘MOVE DOWN”  if they wish to appease the Queen and keep their head.”

Poems were recited, songs were sung, personal remarks were made, and games were played. One couldn’t help but enjoy oneself even if it was the stupidest tea party I’ve ever been to in my life.

My favourite indoor croquet shoes

________________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

If you’re not happy in your current world, create a new one.

“If I had a world of my own, everything would be nonsense. Nothing would be what it is, because everything would be what it isn’t. And contrary wise, what is, it wouldn’t be. And what it wouldn’t be, it would. You see?”

Rating: Unbirthday (9 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 4 out of 5 (Lot of work to prepare and not a lot of time to do it in)
  • Twitch – aye
  • Happy hour – 5 out of 5 (I even got unbirthday presents! Including one of my favourite grammar books, Eats Shoots and Leaves. Is that a commentary on my blogs?…)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Fantasize. Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

6 responses »

  1. Well, I beg to differ. The cover has a panda erasing the comma while the title page does have a comma. Irritating, I am but I can’t help it.

  2. Pingback: Day 23-Happiness is … an ode to clouds « 365waystobehappy

  3. Pingback: Day 45-Happiness is … loose or bagged, hot or cold, alone or shared, but always sipped and savoured « 365waystobehappy

  4. Pingback: Day 51-Happiness is … admiring how sharply my first name is written « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

