Day 28-Happiness is … a little train & a little lie

Standard

“Very little is needed to make a happy life; it is all within yourself, in your way of thinking.” – Marcus Aurelius Antoninus

The Little Engine that Could

The Little Engine that Could (Photo credit: Jamison Wieser)

Chugga chugga chugga chugga choo choo! I think I can, I think I can, I think I can.

Without any information to the contrary, I’m going to attribute the origin of affirmations to the Little Engine That Could.

I believe it generally goes, ‘lying bad, truthing good’, (at least that’s what we tell the kids),but when it comes to our inner monologue, apparently we should bypass that morality issue and lie through our teeth… or so I thought.

Affirmations are statements we repeat with conviction in the present tense as though they are already true, (whether they are or not), but during my intensive research of the last 5 minutes I discovered that the best affirmations should be believable. This means writing a list!!!!!

  1.  Choose an aspect of your life you are unhappy with.
  2.  Write a list of everything you believe surrounding the issue
  3.  Decide which statements do not support improvements.
  4.  Rephrase these believes in a positive light.
  5.  If the statement still feels untrue, add words such as ‘choose’ or willing’

For example, if I am unhappy with my fitness level I might lie and say, “I am fit and healthy”, but if I can’t believe myself then it won’t work. Instead, I could add the word choose and create the affirmation, “I choose to make positive healthy choices for myself.” Repeat 2-3 times daily and prepare to be amazed.

Today I created some affirmations for myself in three aspects of life. I will say these affirmations three times per day. I write three things to be grateful for each day. (that was an affirmation)

Affirmations are meant to assist, not replace, action. They are meant to be believable exaggerations of the truth, not blatant lies. Writer’s make stuff up all the time so I think I can, I think I can, I think I can.

Down the track I’m looking forward to “I knew I could, I knew I could, I knew I could.”

__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

I am willing to meet rich, handsome, mentally stable, witty, healthy men everyday.

Rating: Lying day (7 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 4 out of 5 (feels like another fresh start)
  • Twitch –I have the ‘potential’ to lose this twitch
  • Happy hour – 3 out of 5 (all the research wore me out)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Yoga.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

One response »

  1. Pingback: 3 Happiness Helpers « Anita Answers

Leave a Reply

