Day 2-Happiness is…shiny, Captain!

Standard
1974 Canadian Penny (Obverse)

1974 Canadian Penny (Obverse) (Photo credit: yaybiscuits123)

“You cannot always have happiness, but you can always give happiness.” ~ unknown

How many ripples are produced by one drop in the water? How far do they reach? Do they lap up on the edges of their existence only to fold under themselves and return to the start?

I have dropped pennies for years. I have no idea why or when it started, but it has become a tradition. Sadly, that tradition will end this fall when the Canadian penny becomes obsolete.

The idea of anonymously brightening someone’s day without ever knowing who or when makes me smile. Like a firefly of happiness, I love flitting about dropping shiny copper coins in obscure places, imagining who might pick them up and perhaps perk up the contours of their mouth.

My first reaction to news of the penny cut was disappointment at the loss of my regular smile source, but during a happy cup of tea on a blustery day with someone who is good at seeing both sides of the coin, I was reminded not to be sad because something ends, but happy because it happened.

We brainstormed and my new tradition will be to leave optimistic fortune notes for people to find and ponder – under windshield wipers, in books at the library, next to a box of cereal at the grocery store or maybe just dropped into the wind. Do you think stores would put “Take a fortune, leave a fortune”  containers on their counters?!

Today I dropped pennies on the sidewalk, at the park, on a walk in the woods, & in my driveway. I have dropped them on other continents, left them in trees, on bookshelves, and even tossed them into the ocean. I couldn’t see the ripples they made, but I smiled just the same.

Tomorrow I will start collecting fortunes. Everything’s shiny, Captain!

_________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this:

Every ending is a new beginning, but… you have to be willing to turn around and look for it. 

Rating: Start a new tradition (7 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 2 out 5 (I was not excited about letting go of the old tradition when I got out of bed)
  • Twitch – still twitching
  • Happy Hour – 5 out of 5 (Cannot wait to start inventing and distributing happy fortunes)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Click here to get to the ‘Happiness Is…?’ page. You’ll find out why I’m doing this and if you scroll towards bottom of the page you can read about the rating system.

Tomorrow: Picture day. Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Happiness is…believing in dragons « 365waystobehappy

  2. 1) Nice Firefly reference. I approve!

    2) Litterer!!!

    3) Leave a nickle and give/get 5x the happiness!

  3. Pingback: Day 86 – Happiness is … King Kong, but cuter « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

