Day 4-Happiness is…being an ostrich

Standard

To be without some of the things you want is an indispensable part of happiness.  ~Bertrand Russell, The Conquest of Happiness

Really?

I get the whole “you have to experience darkness to appreciate the light” thing. I get the “not taking happiness for granted thing”. I still call horse hockey; maybe because I’m in the midst of not having some of the things I want.

Regardless, I’ve decided to take a look at some of the missing pieces and turn them into positives. I’ve come  up with these 3 aspects of life that I do not have:

  1. tallness (grant me serenity to accept the things I cannot change)
  2. owning my home (grant me courage to change the things I can)
  3. someone special to care about and spend time with. (grant me wisdom to spot the jerks)
Pro’s of being short:
  • no-one asks you to do extra work like getting the cereal from the top shelf at the grocery store
  • you can ask the cute guy at the grocery store for help reaching the cereal
  • I’m the perfect hugging height
  • medieval doorways are no problem
  • I can wear heels
  • the ground is not far away if I fall

Pro’s of renting:

  • something goes wrong and someone else fixes it properly
  • no property taxes or other such annoyances
  • easier to pick up stakes and move if I wanted

Pro’s of being single:

  • no compromising
  • more girlfriend time
  • satisfaction of looking after yourself and knowing you deserve the credit for your accomplishments
  • stepping outside your comfort zone and growing as an individual
  • meeting people I would perhaps not have met otherwise
  • the stars are not far away if I fall

I love lists, but this backfired on me because I was writing the con list in my head.

  • Is there ever a cute guy at the grocery store when you need one?
  • And when I wear heels the ground gets farther away and the likelihood of hitting it increases substantially.
  • When I’m taking credit for all these great accomplishment who is there to celebrate with me?
  • And no matter how I wrap it up, I don’t enjoy paying for the privilege of borrowing someone else’s home.

I’ve come to the conclusion that I can accept being short, renting is fine short-term but I need to change it, and being single has some great perks… unless you fall alone. Then it sucks. And its lonely. And there is nothing you can do about it.

This was a dumb idea.

Ostrich in the crater

Ostrich in the crater (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

___________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this!

The ostrich may be smarter than we thought. In some cases it may be better not to analyze the situation if cheering yourself up is the goal. 

Rating: Pro List (5 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 4 out of 5  (I really do like lists)
  • Twitch – yes I have it
  • Happy hour – 1 out of 5 (felt worse after the lists)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Click here to get to the ‘Happiness Is…?’ page. You’ll find out why I’m doing this and if you scroll towards bottom of the page you can read about the rating system.

Tomorrow: Organize finances. Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

6 responses »

  1. To be without some of the things you want is an indispensable part of happiness. ~Bertrand Russell, The Conquest of Happiness

    When I read that, what I take away is that happiness comes at it’s strongest when we gain the things we want. If you want for nothing, you cannot experience the joy that comes from getting it.

    Take a good video game for example. If I’m working towards unlocking a trophy, then that trophy is the object of my want. The rush and joy comes when I finally perform well enough to unlock that trophy.

    A month from now, I may remember fondly the time I earned it. I may even feel pride or contentment at having it in my collection of trophies. But the rush that accompanied the moment the trophy popped up on screen cannot be duplicated now, even if I meet the same challenge a second time.

    In order to recreate that feeling, I need a new trophy to work towards. I need something else to want. And when I get that next thing that I want, I can experience the unique joy that accompanies that.

  2. “When I’m taking credit for all these great accomplishment who is there to celebrate with me?”

    Me. Duh.

    (I know, celebrating with me isn’t the same. Also, I’m boring. But hey, I’ll aways be here, taking pride in your accomplishments.)

  3. As always you make some valid points (and bring a tear to my eye), but I really thought there’s be more controversy over how I determined that i was the perfect hugging height…

  4. Well… I was going to posit an argument as to why you’re NOT the perfect hugging height and what, in fact, would be the perfect hugging height, but it was probably not appropriate for this venue, so I thought better of it and bit my tongue.

  5. Pingback: Day 10-Happiness is … a virus « 365waystobehappy

  6. Pingback: Day 3-Happiness is…poop in the park « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

