Day 11-Happiness is … moldy rice

Standard

near the centre of the universe

“One who plants a garden, plants happiness.” – proverb

Plants are a source of unconditional love.

      I read this somewhere so it must be true. Supposedly this is

so because plants do not do things to upset you. I’d have to disagree as

most plants that come under my care tend to die.

This upsets me.

On the whole,

I generally

have

much

better

luck

growing mold on rice.

Last summer, after a trip to the centre of the universe,

I learned about an experiment some people had successfully conducted

involving projected thoughts and mold on rice.

Naturally,

I had

to try it.

The kids and I cooked some rice and divided it into 3 similar bowls with saran wrap

to cover. We put each bowl in a different room of the house and began ‘talking’ to the rice each

day. One bowl was neutral and we ignored it. One bowl was loved and we thought good things

towards it and spoke loving words to it. The last bowl was hated and we projected

everything nasty we could think of to it. The premise was that the bowl of rice having

positive thoughts poured onto it daily would grow less mold than the negatively

thought of rice.Our neutral and negative rice grew some mold after a few weeks, but

the positive rice bowl was overflowing with mold. You could argue that the room

the rice was in affected the outcome or that someone was secretly spewing negative

things at the happy rice, but the best explanation I heard went like this…”Your loving

thoughts are working; the mold is thriving. Who says mold is bad?” This turn the rules

around, out of the box thinking was the best result of the whole experiment.  I planted

vegetable seeds with my children and their cousins today. The goal is to grow vegetables

but if we end up with dirt, I will still smile. And start an earthworm homeless shelter.


___________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

Jack and his magic beans led to great adventure. Plant a seed and you’ll be amazed at what grows.

Rating: Grow something day (7 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 3 out of 5 (would have been more had I not been in the grip of the left handed flu bug)
  • Twitch – yes
  • Happy hour – 4 out of 5 (hugs and family get together is always good)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Click here to get to the ‘Happiness Is…?’ page. You’ll find out why I’m doing this and if you scroll towards bottom of the page you can read about the rating system.

Tomorrow: Do nothing day. Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

4 responses »

  1. I feel like the odd shape of this blog entry is supposed to be a picture of something, but I can’t figure out what…

  2. Pingback: Day 10-Happiness is … a virus « 365waystobehappy

  3. Pingback: Day 76 – Happiness is … harvest « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

