Day 12-Happiness is … dragonflies from space

Standard

remote alien video camera

“Doing nothing is happiness for children and misery for old men.” – Victor Hugo

There is not much to say about nothing.

Other than contemplating the pros and cons of continuing to breathe while my lungs screamed like bratty two-year olds, my goal was to do nothing as much as possible. The list of what I accomplished despite my efforts is staggering really…

  • got one child off to school
  • got dressed
  • looked after the sick one still at home
  • got back into pj’s
  • cancelled work
  • ate some food
  • watched some movies
  • wrote my blog
  • talked to people
  • texted people
  • checked facebook
  • checked emails
  • replied to emails
  • organized work subs for tomorrow
  • drank water
  • slept
  • picked up hay for the horses
  • fed the horses
  • hugged my kids
  • used the washroom
  • washed my hands
  • made tea
  • lied down and sat up numerous times
(Listed in no particular order, of course & I may have missed some important items such as blinking about 15,000 times.)
Imagine if I’d been attempting to actually do something with the day. Think of all the things I must usually do in a day that I don’t give myself credit for.
Next time I plan to do nothing, I will be better prepared. Some ideas might include:
  • counting how many paper clips I own
  • sorting out couch cushion treasures
  • searching for the socks the dryer monster ate
  • playing freeze tag alone
  • trying to telepathically communicate with a stranger on the other side of the world
  • pretending dragonflies are mini video camera’s sent from outer space & I am on an alien nature documentary
  • smelling the inside of my nose
  • tracing each line on my hand and comparing them to star charts
  • writing a poem backwards with an eraser
What would you do??
___________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

Blink and you might miss it; it being all the things you can accomplish in a day. I will be more gentle with myself the next time I am fretting about not getting enough done.

Rating: Do nothing day (6 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 3 out of 5 (didn’t have much choice but to do nothing)
  • Twitch – didn’t look
  • Happy hour – 3 out of 5 (happy at my new perspective but achy from lying in bed all day)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Click here to get to the ‘Happiness Is…?’ page. You’ll find out why I’m doing this and if you scroll towards bottom of the page you can read about the rating system.

Tomorrow: Organize finances. Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Day 85 – Happiness is … moving like a herd of turtles « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

