Day 13-Happiness is … the ultimate answer (but you’re not going to like it)

Standard

Illustration for articles about the Hitchhiker...

“All I ask is a chance to prove that money can’t make me happy.”
— Spike Milligan

I knew there was a reason to be a financial ostrich.

Up until today I didn’t know how much money I needed each month but I managed to get my bills paid. As of today, I know how much money I need to pay the bills but I have no idea how I’m going to manage. Which is scarier?

Ironically, the passengers of the Titanic were blissfully unaware on this day 100 years ago that they too were on a sinking ship. My advantage is that I’ve seen the iceberg ahead of time.

A self-help book called The Easy Life is to blame for the detection. I chose this book because it is 17 pages short, written by a young Canadian author, and geared to those among us who are good with words. (I have a better suggestion for a title though- see step 3 below)

My interpretation:

  1. Become aware of your monthly expenditures. (try not to panic)
  2. Budget more than you need to cover these outrageous bills. (breathe…just breathe)
  3. Add up income, subtract bills, leftover is fun money. (DON’T PANIC – in large friendly letters)
  4. Agonize over every detail and try to understand why ‘fun money’ keeps showing up as a negative number. (grab a towel – we’re taking on water)

The book explains things better.

It may not have been the wisest move to do this task while I am home sick and not making money, as I am now feverishly trying to remind myself why being self-employed was a good idea.

But, I have a plan:

  1. Reduce monthly expenditures (kids do not eat free anymore)
  2. Remember that all my bills are up to date (take 42 breaths)
  3. Brainstorm ways to increase income (lottery, write a bestseller, marry for money, turn pro)
  4. Stand at the front of the boat, spread my arms wide, and enjoy the flight. (ostriches fly, right?)
___________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

I must keep my problems in perspective because, after all,

“Space is big. Really big. You just won’t believe how vastly, hugely, mindbogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it’s a long way down the road to the chemist’s, but that’s just peanuts to space.” 

Rating: Organize finances day (5 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 2 out of 5 (knew this couldn’t end well)
  • Twitch – didn’t look
  • Happy hour – 3 out of 5 (trying to stay optimistic about awareness of imminent disaster)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Click here to get to the ‘Happiness Is…?’ page. You’ll find out why I’m doing this and if you scroll towards bottom of the page you can read about the rating system.

Tomorrow: Reminisce. Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

9 responses »

  1. Pingback: Day 12-Happiness is … dragonflies from space « 365waystobehappy

  2. Pingback: Day 41-Happiness is … having an app for everything « 365waystobehappy

  3. Pingback: Day 45-Happiness is … loose or bagged, hot or cold, alone or shared, but always sipped and savoured « 365waystobehappy

  4. Pingback: Day 61-Happiness is … imperfect « 365waystobehappy

  5. Pingback: Day 82 – Happiness is … wabi sabi « 365waystobehappy

  6. Pingback: Day 88 vs 105- Happiness is … shopping in heaven « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

