Day 16-Happiness is … sidling in big boots toward a pot of honey

Standard

My mare, Whinny the Pooh. Always makes me smile.

“The essentials to happiness are something to love, something to do, and something to hope for.” – William Blake

All of which can be found in Winnie The Pooh.

The first essential: “Piglet sidled up to Pooh from behind. “Pooh?” he whispered. “Yes, Piglet?” “Nothing,” said Piglet, taking Pooh’s hand. “I just wanted to be sure of you.” ― A.A. Milne

The second essential: “When you see someone putting on his Big Boots, you can be pretty sure that an Adventure is going to happen.”
― A.A. Milne

The third essential: “Well,” said Pooh, “what I like best,” and then he had to stop and think.  Because although Eating Honey was a very good thing to do, there was a moment just before you began to eat it which was better than when you were, but he didn’t know what it was called.  ~A.A. Milne

The questions these essentials raise are many, but here are my top 3:

  • Does anyone sidle anymore?
  • Is two out of three enough?
  • Can you have an adventure with small boots? Because what if your feet aren’t big? Then big boots would be uncomfortable and cause blisters and blisters don’t make anybody happy. Can you sidle in big boots?

Today I spent a lot of time in the third essential…something to hope for. And hope of course raises the question of expectation.

  • Good relationships end over expectations.
  • Good movies become mediocre with expectation.
  • Good days drag on with expectation.

It’s flying and THUD all over again.

My happiness task was to have a makeover; to redo the outside in an attempt to recharge the inside. My expectation seeds grew all day but …

  • when I found myself with a new hairdresser, I opted for just a trim.
  • when I arrived at the glam up girls night, I found only selected participants had the opportunity for a makeover, (another shining example of my attention to details.)
  • when I looked at the time I discovered I had none left for a wardrobe makeover.

Before: Brunette, long hair, goes for the natural look which takes hours to create, wears stylish hand me downs from her daughter because her own clothes frequently go missing…

After: Brunette, trimmed long hair, is knowledgeable about creating glamourous looks that will be appreciated by sweaty fitness class participants everywhere, and most importantly…has found the boots her daughter ‘borrowed’ in a closet which shall remain nameless.

These boots fit. I’ll think I’ll keep them.

I could not hope for more than the wonderful hours I've spent with my lovable mare, Whinny the Pooh.

___________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

Essentially, all I need now is sidling lessons. 

Rating: Makeover day (8 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 4 out of 5 (Who doesn’t like a makeover? Magazines always sell more copies when they do before and after issues)
  • Twitch – yes
  • Happy hour – 4 out of 5 (I didn’t change much on the outside, because I discovered I’m already happy with it. Or I’m a big chicken…)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Buy myself flowers. Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

8 responses »

  1. “Pooh, how do you spell ‘LOVE'”? asked Piglett. Pooh replied, “You don’t spell, LOVE, Piglett, you feel it”.

  2. If you approach your Winnie the Pooh from behind you may get kicked.

    I took the third essential as “anticipation”, not “hope”.

  3. I love all Pooh quotes. Those and Alice in Wonderland quotes are all great. Now as for anticipation vs hope…a similar principle could still be applied, could it not? I like anticipation better but that isn’t what my quote said 🙂 I also thought Pooh could have been referring to imagination…

  4. Pingback: Day 19-Happiness is … getting lucky or getting even « 365waystobehappy

  5. Pingback: Day 45-Happiness is … loose or bagged, hot or cold, alone or shared, but always sipped and savoured « 365waystobehappy

  6. Pingback: Day 52-Happiness is … quiche in the woods « 365waystobehappy

  7. Pingback: Day 58-Happiness is … beautiful blogging « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

