Day 17-Happiness is … 30,000 feet up

Standard

“The best way to cheer yourself up is to try to cheer somebody else up.”  ~Mark Twain


Airplanes are a great place for learning life lessons. Possibly, the most important is the oxygen mask rule. Always attach your own oh-so-stylish apparatus before trying to help anyone else because no-one can appreciate you when you’ve passed out, (or you look better than they do in a crisis). So, no matter how smurf-like the child next to you becomes, look after yourself first.

Other ‘everything I ever needed to know I learned on an airplane‘ rules are:

1) Your son’s school backpack may explode like a parachute when you open it, but you will THUD if you try to use it as a parachute.

  • Jump (into life or for joy) but double check you can land safely – risk assessment people!
  • Things and people aren’t always what they seem.
  • No-one should open a child’s backpack without first attaching an oxygen mask.

2) It’s not that life is short, it’s just that death is so long. – Scottish proverb

  • We are all in this boat together – do unto others and all that.
  • The pilot doesn’t want to die anymore than you do (a gem from mum). Trust those around you, (especially the experienced ones), to help you when you need it.
  • An unwashed, loud seat mate on a trans atlantic flight will make time feel longer than death, but there’s no assigned seating in life; if you don’t like where you are or who you’re next to…move.
3) The best use for airplane intercoms is to train people to hear patterns in the white noise and to inform them that turbulence will be testing their bladder control for the next bit of eternity…not only are you not allowed out of your seat to join the queue for the toilet, we are going to bounce you up and down a bit. Have a nice flight.
  • You can always learn from others, even if you don’t speak the same language
  • Just because you don’t understand someone, doesn’t mean they are wrong and you are right
  • Be like the Queen…when it comes to bathroom breaks, never miss an opportunity (another mum-ism)
Let’s take it from the top. Lifting other’s up is grand, but first things first. What would you do to cheer up a friend? Does anyone do those things for you? If not, do them yourself. After all, the only person you can ever truly count on in life, is you. (once again, thanks mum)

Daffodils, the official happiness flower, smiling at me when I wake up.

Today I bought myself flowers. I love waking up to the sight of fresh flowers on my nightstand. I did not go as far as having them delivered to myself (though I thought of that) or writing myself a nice card, but why not?? I also refrained from using them as a game piece & told the truth when asked by an ex, “So, who bought you flowers…”.
I feel magnanimous. I feel happy. I feel like a daffodil.*
* In an episode of Chuck, a rock star gets hits with a tranquilizer dart and as he passes out he says, “I feel like a daffodil.” I’ve always wondered how it would feel to be a daffodil; maybe this is it.
___________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

Backpacks on – check. Bathroom break – check. Being flowerish – check.  3,2,1…lift off!

Rating: Buy flowers day (7 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 3 out of 5 (I have a small aversion to spending $ on things I know will die in about a week-death is so long after all. It is better to get them on someone else’s dime.)
  • Twitch – yep
  • Happy hour – 4 out of 5 (Opening my eyes to flowers really is one of the best ways to start the day)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Create a comfort station. Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

13 responses »

  1. Flowers on the nightstand… ex sees the flowers and asks about them… ex is in the vicinity of nightstand. Interesting.

    If “the only person you can ever truly count on in life, is you,” and I seem to let myself down so often, what does that say???

  2. As for letting yourself down, it’s probably because you’re so busy not letting others down. You need to reread airplane rule #1.

    As for the flowers…I’ll never tell, but consider this…the flowers didn’t grow on my nightstand. At some point they were in a store and had to get from there to my house…or maybe I made the whole thing up in a wild abuse of artistic license…

    • But there’s a picture of the flowers…

      I let myself down primarily because doing the things I should be doing like excercising and getting jobs around the house done seem like way more work than sitting on the couch at the end of the day.

  3. Pingback: Day 19-Happiness is … getting lucky or getting even « 365waystobehappy

  4. Pingback: Day 32-Happiness is … a swift kick to the bag « 365waystobehappy

  5. Pingback: Day 40-Happiness is … oral hygeine « 365waystobehappy

  6. Pingback: Day 58-Happiness is … beautiful blogging « 365waystobehappy

  7. Pingback: Day 80 – Happiness is … an illuminated swan « 365waystobehappy

  8. Pingback: Day 82 – Happiness is … wabi sabi « 365waystobehappy

  9. Pingback: Day 85 – Happiness is … moving like a herd of turtles « 365waystobehappy

  10. Pingback: Day 94 vs 111- Happiness is … unmentionable flagrant frivolity « 365waystobehappy

  11. Pingback: Day 95 vs 112- Happiness is … co-ordinated packing « 365waystobehappy

  12. Pingback: Day 96 vs 113- Happiness is … a magic carpet ride with friends « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

