Day 18-Happiness is … in the bathroom

Standard

The cover photo for a book I intend to create entitled, 'Water Closets of the World'

“Happiness is excitement that has found a settling down place.  But there is always a little corner that keeps flapping around”.  ~E.L. Konigsburg


One of the greatest sources of happiness in my life occurs in the bathroom every night. I’ve included it as part of my snappily titled list:

These are a few of my favourite things: (you totally sang that in your head, didn’t you?!)

  • lists
  • curtains around my bed (with blue satin sashes)
  • keeping cotton balls in a fancy container instead of the bag they arrived in
  • candy – gummies, yogurt covered raisins, coconut covered tea cakes, schnitzel
  • the smell of lilacs and almonds and Whinney the Pooh (not necessarily together)
  • a solid thunk of a car door closing on a good quality vehicle (or sleigh)
  • the small wooden step stool in my closet
  • flowers on my nightstand (with or without raindrops)
  • a warm cloth placed over my face until the heat dissipates
  • fresh paper, a shiny pen, and a stamp box
  • old letters and memorabilia (tied up with string)
  • dimmer switches (but not doorbells)
  • steam from the spout of a cozy teapot (or a copper kettle)
  • knowing the toilet paper roll is hanging the right way round
  • dragging my fingers through a moonbeam on the lake (sans woolen mittens)

Did you figure out which thing brings me such joy in the bathroom that I actually daydream of it hours ahead of time? You can eliminate the step stool, the curtains, and the flowers because I gave away their location. Everything else is fair game for the guessing.

(Here’s a link to the lyrics that you can’t remember so you can focus on the rest of this blog.)

Today’s task was to create a comfort station. Renting a house that is for sale means an impending move so it’s hard to feel a sense of ‘home’. A friend suggested that creating a corner somewhere for all my favourite things to flap around would make a great happiness task and possibly cure the ‘nowhere to hang my hat’ blues. “Outstanding  idea,” I thought. It was either that or become a nanny to 7 unruly children and as I can’t sing, I went with the comfort station.

The ‘corner’ I chose was my bedroom. Just a few touches here and there – updating the curtains, de-cluttering my desk and stocking the drawers with candy, a lilac scented thingy – and just like that, I have a space that comforts me when I enter.
Now, if you’ll excuse me, there is some happiness waiting for me in the bathroom.
___________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

It is impossible to have a thought that has not already been thought by someone else.

Check out Toilets of the World.

I still like my title better and the idea of traveling the world gives me an unflappable sense of excitement. Plus my book will have the psychology behind choosing a bathroom stall…

Take the bathroom stall personality quiz.

Rating: Comfort Station day (7 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 3 out of 5 (I knew this would involve a fair bit of tidying time that I was not anticipating happily)
  • Twitch – you betcha
  • Happy hour – 4 out of 5 (results were worth the effort)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Lucky #3. Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

4 responses »

  1. I envision a cartoon strip with the kids trying to figure out why Mum’s standing in the corner again…

  2. Pingback: Day 19-Happiness is … getting lucky or getting even « 365waystobehappy

  3. Pingback: Day 40-Happiness is … oral hygeine « 365waystobehappy

  4. Pingback: Day 96 vs 113- Happiness is … a magic carpet ride with friends « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

