Day 23-Happiness is … an ode to clouds

Standard
It was a 'dark and stormy night' ... Dark clou...

It was a 'dark and stormy night' ... Dark clouds over Oughtibridge, with the top of Oughtibridge Parish Church, situated off Church Street, just visible. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“I caught the happiness virus last night / When I was out singing beneath the stars”. 
— Hafiz

Today was a ‘maybe so, maybe not’ day. Ever have one of those days where everything you attempt to do back fires?

  • Slept through my alarm but…
  • discovered my internal clock still has good batteries.
  • Dismal numbers for fitness class, but…
  • I had to be in town anyway for summer tire change over.
  • Stopped at tire shop to have summers put on, but… 
  • closed Saturdays (seriously??)
  • More time to catch up on work, but…
  • internet was down.
  • Good excuse to get out in the sunshine and ride my horse or go for a bike ride, but...
  • ok, no but for that one; it worked out swimmingly 🙂
  • Supper time and I’m expecting company, but…
  • last minute cancellation.
  • I’ll rent a movie, but…
  • store didn’t have the movie I wanted and my account has $30 of late charges (don’t judge).
  • It’s almost dark, I’m excited to see the Lyrid meteor shower which is supposed to be brilliant this year due to the lack of a full moon. Popcorn in hand, blankets ready, a deck next to a pond complete with frog serenade, but…
  • the clouds have rolled in.
  • Off to bed for a good night’s sleep, but…
  • Stupid frogs
  • Set my alarm for 2 am (maybe the clouds will have cleared), but…
  • woke up to that alarm from one of the best sleeps ever, cracked an eyeball, but…
  • it was a dark and stormy night
…which is an infamous way to start a story, but in this case, it’s the end. And did I have a happy day in the end? A wise person would answer, “maybe so, maybe not...” Now the big question is: Am I a wise person?
Maybe so, maybe not.
__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

Life throws curve balls. Sometimes you’ve gotta take a swing anyway and let the stars fall where they may. That’s not right, is it? How about, “If you hit the ball hard enough it might land among the stars”?  

Twinkle twinkle little bat?… (whoops, wrong blog…already had the unbirthday party, but notice how I got the stars and the baseball references all wrapped up neatly with that one line of poetry? Now I’m happy 🙂

Rating: Star gazing day (5 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 4 out of 5 (I love cloud watching, people watching and star watching)
  • Twitch – I do, I do!
  • Happy hour – 1 out of 5 (so much potential)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Make a kite. Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

  • Meteor Shower this Weekend! (smartstem.wordpress.com) (I like how he says potentially perfect viewing conditions…potential is tantalizing until the clouds roll in)
2 responses »

  1. “How about, “If you hit the ball hard enough it might land among the stars”? ”

    Or if you hit me hard enough, I’ll be seeing stars.

    (and remember… perception is reality, right?)

  2. Pingback: Day 25-Happiness is … just a number « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

