Day 24-Happiness is … 93.8% probable

Standard

“People tend to think that happiness is a stroke of luck, something that will descend like fine weather if you’re fortunate.” – Elizabeth Gilbert

fine weather for friendship

Chances are, that on a person’s day off, the weather will not cooperate. Today, however, the weather changed in accordance to my whims, and this is a good thing because it worked out jolly nice for me and because if the weather didn’t change once in a while, nine out of ten people couldn’t start a conversation; nor could I have started today’s blog.

Keep in mind though that 42.7% of all statistics are made up on the spot.

After a night of not star-gazing, I met, (surprise surprise), a cloudy sky and headed out to watch some horses and riders jump the moon. It was chilly for the spectators, but perfect for the athletes.

A few hours later,  the weather was perfect again – this time for hiking.  Did you know that 80% of people who set out for a hike are ill prepared should something go wrong? And if there’s a 50/50 chance something will go wrong, 9 times out of 10 it does. Of course, 97.3 % of all statistics are made up.

The hike was not so perfect with the ‘funky rock formation destination’ never being reached, extra trekking hours spent trying to find the bread crumbs we forgot to drop as well as the dog we lost, and the mid-day sun beating down on my long johns, (I over-prepared; didn’t want to become a statistic). As luck would have it though, my hiking partner was fabulous company and I loved every minute anyway 🙂

My masterpiece

Next stop, my happiness task for the day – make and fly a kite. Five out of four women are able to multi task, so with the odds stacked in my favour, I thought I’d give it a whirl and make a kite while on an outing with an online suitor. We talked about the weather and then right on cue, the wind picked up – which made kite making difficult. Kite flying was even more difficult as I forgot the string.

80% of people find first meetings less awkward if they have a task to focus on. Also, 80% of all statistics quoted to prove a point are totally made up.

What are the odds I’ll see the guy again or the kite will ever fly or the funky rock formation really exists? I’ll let time figure it out because chances are I’d get the math wrong anyway. (and I would never make up a statistic.)

__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

43% of all statistics are worthless. It’s probable that my kite is as well. I’m 100% ok with that.

Rating: Kite day (6 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 3 out of 5 (was worried I wouldn’t have time for everything)
  • Twitch – 100%
  • Happy hour – 3 out of 5 (didn’t get to fly it)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Write a list!! 100 things that make me smile. Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

One response »

  1. “Chances are, that on a person’s day off, the weather will not cooperate.”

    …what is this “day off” thing you speak of??? Sounds intriguing… I’ll have to try it one of these days…

Leave a Reply

