Day 29-Happiness is … better than kegels

Standard

“The mind is the source of happiness and unhappiness” – Buddha 

This is, in fact, why I quit my yoga class.

This is, in fact, why I quit my yoga class. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

If there is a way to improve my sex life, I’m on top of it. They say it’s all in the mind for women, but they also say, (and I’m taking their word for it), that a regular yoga practice helps too. Apparently, the hardest part of yoga (pun intended) is getting your butt to the mat. I almost didn’t.

Unpublicized events from yesterday had left me in the ‘rarely publicly practiced fetal floor pose’ that you may recall from Day 1 of the blog, so it felt like fate that I had picked yoga as my happiness task for today.

Then yesterday spilled into today and I knew I would not be able  to get to class. Breathe… let it go… be the stream…I was zen with my acceptance. ‘How am I going to improve my positions, (I mean poses), and blog about yoga if I haven’t done yoga’ was screaming in the background, so I turned the radio up, refused to cry, and ignored the liquid streaming down my face.

I smiled at my daughter when I picked her up from school. Ten minutes later the darling girl told me about a change of plans that would allow me to get to the mat on time  – if

  • I was willing to drive an extra 50km for no reason other than yoga class
  • I was able to get packed and organized for a weekend away from home in 10 minutes
  • I was able to get the kids organized for a weekend away from home in the same 10 minutes

I’m a woman; I got to class.

Tear tainted sweat dripped as I progressed through the poses. I embraced the challenge, I found calm, I sank out of yesterday and into the mat, I remembered… how… to… exhale.

Sigh…happiness is hard today; getting to the mat was easy.

__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

Yoga causes and cures crying. It also improves flexibility, confidence, strength, sex… now there’s a reason to get to the mat.

Rating: Yoga day (9 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 4 out of 5 (looking forward to it but not sure I’d be able to get to it)
  • Twitch –I am zen with the twitch
  • Happy hour – 5 out of 5 (Yoga improved many things for me today)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Blind date.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Day 85 – Happiness is … moving like a herd of turtles « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

