Day 31-Happiness is … building a sandwich without a recipe

Standard

“The really happy person is one who can enjoy the scenery when on a detour.”—Unknown

A detour is generally a route around an area of construction or obstacles; I may have missed the turnoff.

Taking a detour

Creating full, busy days is like building a sandwich. Each day starts and ends the same way – I wake up and I go to sleep, (if it’s a good day it happens in that order). In between those two stunning events, I stuff a variety of ingredients that generally spill out the sides. Maybe I should switch to wraps.

Today’s ingredient for happiness was a bird feeding picnic. After winning a 10k race, congratulating an inspiring woman on her accomplishments of the race, and sharing a tea/coffee visit with friends, I was ready to start searching for happiness.

A leisurely stroll to a quirky cafe, one wrap to go, a picnic table near the water in the sunshine and my laptop … a perfect recipe is born.

My plans to toss bread to the birds were thwarted, however, when a man with loud opinions of the weather, God, and the military started his solo sermon to no-one at the next picnic table over. I felt that tossing bits of food would be akin to tossing rotten tomatoes on stage, so I skipped that part of happiness.

One sunburn later (whoops – but, the fact that I need to break out the sunscreen does make me happy), I set off on my 40k bike ride, finished it with the ability to walk (also makes me happy), and headed home for a warm shower, dinner, and the joy of getting wrapped up in the smiles of my beautiful children.

This ‘detour’ my life has taken does have some pretty views along the way.

__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

 Sunburns and alternative park personalities were not enough to stop me having a 10 out of 10 day…my first! Now if only I’d thought to write that recipe down…

Rating: Picnic day (10 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 5 out of 5 (love busy days off)
  • Twitch – proud to own one
  • Happy hour – 5 out of 5 (was hoping to share the picnic with someone, but thoroughly enjoyed my alone time)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Exercise differently.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Key to Happiness #1 « Inside Out Cafe

  2. Pingback: Hope and Expectation – Two different Constructs « The Dekkers Report…

  3. Pingback: Day 86 – Happiness is … King Kong, but cuter « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

