Day 34-Happiness is … like pulling a rabbit out of a hat

Standard

“There is no effect more disproportionate to its cause than the happiness bestowed by a small compliment.” – Robert Brault

Complimenting each other – matching toe ring tattoos my sister and I got when we met 🙂

Series of 5 – a challenging series of 5 different Pilates exercises performed 10 times each. I am about to attempt the blog equivalent in order to catch up on my happiness task reporting.

Five blogs with 10 lines each. I’m giving myself ten minutes to write each blog. Ready, core engaged, breath, and….GO!

Blog 1 of the series of 5:

Attempting to compliment everyone I spoke to made me realize how often I perform the opposite of, “if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t day anything at all.”  I have nice things to say which disappear into thin air somewhere between my brain and vocal cords.

Appreciative thinking gives me the illusion of being a complimentary person when in fact no-one else knows about it.

Non-telepaths all over town have no idea what their smile did to brighten my day, or that their shirt matched their eyes beautifully. After walking away from them I’d have the, “Doh!” smack on the forehead moment, but as the day progressed, I remembered, I complimented, I became more aware of what I was saying. Real people appeared before me where before I had seen only smoke and mirrors.

Instead of focusing on what I was going to say when the other person stopped talking, I actually listened to them, looked at them, thought about them. Wow – concept! Cue applause now.

The results – feeling powerful in my ability to create smiles and fill buckets. (click the link if that doesn’t make sense to you because I’m running out of lines and don’t have time to explain – this doesn’t count as a line)

__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

 If you have something nice to say, say it! Smiles will magically appear.

Rating: Complimenting day (7 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 3 out of 5 (feeling selfish – this task wasn’t about me – too much honesty?)
  • Twitch – it looks good with my green eyes
  • Happy hour – 4 out of 5 (full bucket)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Start a wild rumour.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

One response »

  1. Regarding the toe rings. Is that complimenting each other or complementing each other. I didn’t read the rest of the blog. I got hung up there…

Leave a Reply

