Day 36-Happiness is … killing my buzz

Standard

 “The longing for justice is man’s eternal longing for happiness.” – Hans Kelsen

Fly swatter photo by Heron.

Fly swatter photo by Heron. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Series of 5 – a challenging series of 5 different Pilates exercises performed 10 times each. I am about to attempt the blog equivalent in order to catch up on my happiness task reporting.

Five blogs with 10 lines each. I’m giving myself ten minutes to write each blog. Ready, core engaged, breath, and….GO!

Blog 3 of the series of 5:

Can you hear a mosquito? If you are older than 25, chances are that you can’t.

The mosquito is a controversial device used to deter teenagers from partying on school grounds at night or loitering in certain areas of town by emitting a high-pitched, annoying noise only that age demographic can hear. Sounds brilliant… so why the controversy?

The mosquitos work, but some claim it is discriminatory against all teenagers and is actually a sound weapon. Another concern is that infants can hear the noise, but adults cannot so you may inadvertently subject your child to a potentially damaging noise without ever knowing.

I did not right the injustice of partying paraphernalia left on school grounds or the injustice of sound weaponry. I stayed in my corner of the world and helped my son write apology letters for some wrongs he needed to right.

As the proud owner of a teenager and a tween, I can see the value of mosquitos, but if there is an issue… how about a giant fly swatter?

The biggest problem I can see with the mosquito device is free training for teenagers to tune out annoying noises like nagging parents.

__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

I couldn’t resist taking the test to see how old my ears are. 

Rating: Right an injustice day (8 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 3 out of 5 (wasn’t feeling prepared)
  • Twitch – Right or wrong, it is there
  • Happy hour – 4 out of 5 (my son and I bonded and I didn’t have to use the fly swatter)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Choose happy.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

3 responses »

  1. For the first time in my life I want to seek out a mosquito now. I’m sure I can still hear them. At least I think I’m maybe sure.

    I’m not sure… And that actually troubles me for some reason. Like I’ve maybe lost a line of defense again a hated and feared enemy.

    • Dag-nab-it, I wish there were a way to edit replies, so that I could fix typos. “against”, not “again”.

  2. Funnily enough, due to a peculiar trait in the human brain (& brains of other creatures, for all I know), most people probably read “against” despite the typo. However, I empathize with your complaint.

Leave a Reply

