Day 37-Happiness is … a stupid question

Standard

“Each morning when I open my eyes I say to myself: I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.”– Groucho Marx

Emotions associated with happiness

Emotions associated with happiness (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Series of 5 – a challenging series of 5 different Pilates exercises performed 10 times each. I am about to attempt the blog equivalent in order to catch up on my happiness task reporting.

Five blogs with 10 lines each. I’m giving myself ten minutes to write each blog. Ready, core engaged, breath, and….GO!

Blog 4 of the series of 5:

What if you made every decision based on whether  it would make you happy right at that moment – as if there was every chance you’d have the overwhelming urge to let a bus hit you tomorrow?

I thought about not teaching my free fitness class this morning but realized the dedication and smiling faces of the participants really does make me happy. One participant gave me $10 and told me to treat myself at a specialty pie shop in the neighbouring  town I was going to visit.

I went to a workshop in the neighbouring town which was disappointing, but then found the pie shop and chose a decadent lemon buttermilk custard pie with homemade whip cream without worrying about how it would affect my olympic triathlon training.

While I ate my pie, I surfed Facebook and all manner of time-wasting mind candy sites instead of working. After adding an estimated 5 hrs to my next workout, I walked up the charming street of the neighbouring town taking pictures like a tourist and wondering if I’d find this town so quaint if I lived in it.

My fondness for used bookstores tempted me from my saunter to the car, (and the return home that should have been half way completed by now), where “The Book of Stupid Questions” cost me the balance of my $10 and is still making me happy.

Granted I picked a day without a lot of hard and fast time constraints to do this task, but I actually found it quite easy to recklessly choose happy and to heck with the consequences, until…well let’s just say it… MEN!

A text, a choice, an inability to figure out what would make me happy right at that moment, and in the end, a reluctant acceptance that I probably won’t get hit by a bus tomorrow, (even if I do fall off my bike during the triathlon).

There are no stupid questions…or are there?

__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

Here’s a stupid question. “Do you have a favourite toe?”

Rating: Choose happy day (8 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 4 out of 5 (concerned about my ability to ignore consequence)
  • Twitch – here today, maybe not tomorrow
  • Happy hour – 4 out of 5 (could have been a perfect day, but I couldn’t ignore tomorrow. Was a beautiful day though!!)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Make a new friend.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Day 38-Happiness is … winning the olympics « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

