Day 38-Happiness is … winning the olympics

Standard

“All who would win joy must share it. Happiness was born a Twin.” – Lord Byron

Series of 5 – a challenging series of 5 different Pilates exercises performed 10 times each. I am about to attempt the blog equivalent in order to catch up on my happiness task reporting.

Five blogs with 10 lines each. I’m giving myself ten minutes to write each blog. Ready, core engaged, breath, and….GO!

Blog 5 of the series of 5: (note: attempting the series of 5 before a road trip with limited internet access was not one of my better thought out plans)

I won! According to Mr. Byron, I need a friend with whom to share my joy.

Got the helmet on properly!!

Today I competed in my first triathlon (an olympic distance) and decided this would be a great time to make new friends, (and you thought I was joking about the triathlon when I ate dessert yesterday :).

Pre-race I asked advice from seasoned competitors and shared fears with newbies like myself, weighing each candidate for their potential to be my new bff. I was impressed with how welcoming triathlon is as a sport.

Sporting my trendy green swim cap for the first portion, a helmet which one of the race officials informed me I was wearing backwards seconds before I headed out on course for the second part, and my favourite ball cap for the last leg of the race, I’m sure I met my goal of looking great as I crossed the finish line for the photo-op.

As for my goal of making a new friend, well everything was on track – I’d met someone I felt I clicked with, shared some laughs, bonded over the experience of being newbie triathletes – and then I beat her by 50 seconds. I haven’t seen her since results came out, but I know how I’d feel. I’m sure she’ll be thrilled to see me at the next event.

Ah well, if it doesn’t work out I know I’m already blessed with fabulous friends to share my joy with and there isn’t a better victory than that.

__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

I made friends with a new sport… does that count?

Rating: Make a friend day (10 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 5 out of 5 (anxious excitement…best way to start a day)
  • Twitch – here today, maybe not tomorrow
  • Happy hour – 5 out of 5 (didn’t actually make a new friend but the effort got me out of my normal shy mode and the support of existing friends made my day)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Set a goal.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

5 responses »

  1. Actually Dad got a ot of respect from fellow employee at lafarge because his daughter won the triathlon

  2. Pingback: Day 53-Happiness is … ecological destruction « 365waystobehappy

  3. Pingback: Day 82 – Happiness is … wabi sabi « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

