Day 41-Happiness is … having an app for everything

Standard

“Yesterday is but a vision, and tomorrow is only a dream. But today well lived makes every yesterday a dream of happiness, and every tomorrow a dream of hope.” – Anonymous 

Dreaming droolers

Ever notice how we remember dreams in reverse? We can’t remember the start of a dream  but if we can recall just one part and work backwards we can usually find the beginning. Like an avalanche in the fog, one detail snowballs into another until a mountain pours into view.
Perhaps happiness can be found the same way. In that moment when you can’t remember happiness, find just one memory that makes you smile and work the timeline backwards to find the source. Now let the smile tangent slide out of control.
Some say dreams are a gateway to an alternate universe. Some say dreams are nothing more than your brain re-jumbling past events. Some say dreams are different in REM and nonREM sleep. Some say it’s the dream afraid of waking that never takes the chance. Sorry..got on a tangent there.
How much should we pay attention to our dreams? Do you dream in colour? Do you dream in the first person (seeing the dream through your own eyes), in the third person (seeing the dream like you are watching a movie), or even in the second person (seeing the dream through someone else’s eyes)? Can you control your dreams and would you want to?
Last night I went to sleep with the intention of controlling my dreams, (there’s an app for that…I’m serious). I believe I was successful. In my dream I  discovered the meaning of the universe and then ordered myself to forget all knowledge of the event and the dream. It worked; I can’t remember one bit of it… mice… there may have been 42 mice…?
 __________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

Dream journaling makes me happy but it has to be done before you even wipe the drool from your chin or it’s lost… the dream, not the slime on your pillow.

Rating: Dream control day  (5 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 3 out of 5 (wasn’t much to look forward to until bedtime. If I’d been more organized I could have staged weird events throughout the day to entice weird dreams. I did eat cheese before bed…)
  • Twitch – I thought it was gone but it was only a dream
  • Happy hour – 2 out of 5 (next morning I was ready to journal but I didn’t remember any dreaming)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Wreck the journal.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Day 54-Happiness is … ecological destruction « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

