Day 46-Happiness is … everywhere; blink and you’ll catch it

Standard

” Even if happiness forgets you a little bit, never completely forget about it.”  ~Jacques Prévert

Picture this:

  • a mountain lake hidden in the forest viewed through the lens of a 12 yr old girl’s eyes as she sits alone with just her thoughts
  • an a-frame house viewed through the lens of a newly married woman’s eyes as she sees herself growing old there
  • a child sinking in a pool, hair floating around her surprised face, viewed through the lens of a mother’s eyes as she reaches in to pull the child out
  • a boy turning into a man with each step he takes up the driveway toward the school bus viewed through the lens of a woman learning to hold happiness loosely instead of gripping too tightly for fear of losing it

Mind’s eye view

There are moments we think we will never forget and there are moments we don’t expect to remember. There are moments that torture us and moments we cherish. Moments live inside the scrapbook of our minds.

My camera has been to almost every major event in my life and many mediocre ones; my photo albums remain comparatively sparse.

Today I practiced one of my favourite art forms…mental photography. Literally blinking the lens of my eyes to take a mental snapshot of everyday moments and  storing them in my mental scrapbook has given me some of my best photos.

The best part about mental photography is that the photo’s tend to improve over time instead of fading. I know there are loads I’ve forgotten, but the ones I remember always surprise me and I love surprises.

__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

I’ve always wondered how many photographs I’m ‘accidentally’ in around the world – in the background of a stranger’s shot. Now I wonder if I’m in anyone’s mental photography…

Rating: Mental photography day (8 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 4 out of 5 (In my head I’m a world class photographer)
  • Twitch – I took a picture of it in my mind’s eye
  • Happy hour – 4 out of 5 (collected some wonderful everyday moments)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: New happiness tasks.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Day 77 – Happiness is … giving babies away « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

