Day 48-Happiness is … getting caught in a spiderweb

Standard

” If you can’t be a pencil to write someone’s happiness, then try at least to be a nice eraser to remove someone’s sadness.” – Dolores Macas Demavivas

There are milestone moments in the life of every parent:
  • The first time you wake up rested (then panic in a blind sweat to see what’s wrong)
  • The first time you want to stomp your feet like a child and yell, “I’m the one who told you that!” when your little darling explains in great detail about something they ‘just learned’.
  • The first time you realize they know more than you remember about math.
There are people who enter our lives and get tangled; trying to unravel them is like pulling a loose thread. Children in particular doodle their way into our hearts and steal the corners of our time. Mine travel down unexpected pathways to create a life design I could never have imagined – and the finished product is beautiful.
When I decided to try a Zentangle as a happiness task I didn’t realize the intricacies of the art form. I knew huddling under a blanket from the rain and wind while watching my son play baseball to an ‘over-competitive  parent’ soundtrack was not  the same as sitting in a favourite spot listening to soothing music as suggested by the Zentangle pros, but it wasn’t until my little boy sat next to me, peered over my shoulder and said, “Oh, a Zentangle,” that I discovered how much I didn’t know.
He taught me some basic Zentangle ‘stuff ‘,(like the spiderweb design which I incorporated into my design), then hopped off to play again. It’s the first time I’ve ever found happiness while shivering in the cold.

Would like to try again with the proper atmosphere

__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

Let yourself get ravelled up in the twists and turns of life; pulling the thread never ends well. 

Rating: Zentangle day (6 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 3 out of 5 (Knew time would be rushed – you can’t rush doddling)
  • Twitch – it’s a part of my life
  • Happy hour – 3 out of 5 (would like to have researched it more before I started…feels like a redo)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Chew my food.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Day 58-Happiness is … beautiful blogging « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

