Day 49-Happiness is … taking one bite at a time

Standard

“All happiness depends on a leisurely breakfast.”  ~John Gunther

This is worth savouring

I knew a man who chewed his food so slowly that when everyone else at the table was finishing dessert he was still half way through his dinner. He chewed his food to excess for three reasons:

  1. to enjoy the sensations of eating
  2. because he believed his body digested the food better
  3. because it allowed time for his body to decide when it was full
I love eating, but food generally gets shoved in on the go while driving and serves the purpose of fueling my body. Today I slowed down the process; took time to notice the texture, taste, and smell of my food.
This changes things.
I didn’t need to eat as much, perhaps because I felt full when I was supposed to and perhaps because the experience of eating was more satisfying. I felt more relaxed in general, perhaps because I took time throughout the day to slow down, to take a mind stroll.
The man who taught me the art of eating slowly was humble, quiet, intelligent, happily married, and insanely rich. Perhaps because he gave each morsel its due?
This could change things 🙂

___________________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

Slow food, not fast food, is the answer. Why rush a good thing?

Rating: Eat slowly day (7 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 3 out of 5 (Thought it would be a time waste)
  • Twitch – its a fast twitch
  • Happy hour – 4 out of 5 (Found enough value in it that I will endeavor to slow down at least one meal per day )

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Invent a kiss.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

One response »

Leave a Reply

