Day 54-Happiness is … ecological destruction

Standard

“The foolish man seeks happiness in the distance; the wise grows it under his feet.”  ~James Openheim

There is a new arrival to the endangered species list… the art of writing a letter.

to my chicago pen pal,

to my chicago pen pal, (Photo credit: aye_shamus)

Why bother with the guilt of ecological destruction by putting pen to paper and attempting to write a message without the aid of spell check and then wait weeks for a reply when you can type a 140 character snippet to anywhere in the world and get an insto reply?

Worst case scenario you could write an email and not have to bother with pesky things like punctuation or grammar.

And yet…

While seeing that special someone’s name bolded in your inbox has its appeal, tracing your name written in their unique handwriting with your fingers and knowing their hands have been there as well is a thrill of happiness unlike any other.

Remembering an age before email and text is like trying to remember life before a child. You know it existed, and yet…

As a child, I wrote letters to my grandparents, my cousins, and yes even a special someone. I craved that blue airmail envelope, devoured the tangible contents, savoured the smell of the person that wafted out with the words, and marveled at how their thoughts had been transported across the world to find me.

Today I decided to make a new friend (never really accomplished that happiness task) and get a penpal. Someone from across the ocean who would be willing to correspond via snail mail. (Even penpal sites are done with email now).

I have had a few friend requests, (think Facebook with total strangers), and am looking forward to finding a suitable pal and feeding the post box. It won’t be the same to get a letter from a stranger, and yet…

This is how I envision my thoughts traveling across the world to a friend

The Sasquatch sized carbon footprint reality. And yet…

__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

 I don’t even get bills in the mail anymore…

Rating: Get a penpal day (8 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 5 out of 5 (love everything about this idea)
  • Twitch – I think it’s there, and yet… oh wait there it is!
  • Happy hour – 3 out of 5 (disappointed that it is all done by email and in my lack of time to write letters)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Paint.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

Leave a Reply

