Day 53-Happiness is … poetry

Standard

Happy the man, and happy he alone,
He, who can call to-day his own:
He who, secure within, can say,
Tomorrow do thy worst, for I have lived today.

John Dryden

 I  took a workshop on ‘reading your writing in public’ which I did not find useful except for the pearl of wisdom that the piece should stand on it’s own. Do not preamble with lengthy backstory or explanations; just get on with it and read it. So…here it is…as yet untitled.
___________________________________________________________________________________
Happiness hides beneath unturned stones,
Happiness lives in moments embraced,
Happiness waits beside unturned lips,
Happiness seeks the spaces I create.
Happiness fills the life I seek,
Somewhere between too soon and too late,
Happiness finds the wishes I dream,
Somewhere between asleep and awake.
Happiness expands from the smile I share,
Happiness wafts from the words that escape,
Happiness pours from the eyes I adore,
Happiness binds the memories we make.
~ Me

My totem animal…apparently. Notice there are 3 of them 🙂

__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

The last two lines of my poem were a surprise to me. Not sure analyzing will make me happy at this point…

 Rating: Write a poem day (9 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 4 out of 5 (Love writing but I’m not a poet)
  • Twitch – let me count the pulses per minute
  • Happy hour – 5 out of 5 (proud of myself for persevering despite not feeling the muse calling)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Get a penpal.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Day 82 – Happiness is … wabi sabi « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

