Day 55-Happiness is … wielding a mighty brush

Standard

“Paint happiness everywhere you go and if it runs, may it touch someone with happiness.”– G. Batiste

Paintings, like life and happiness, are layered. Present day happiness sits on the surface of the past, sometimes masking tears pushing behind the eyes, and all it takes is for life to add one more layer before the dam breaks.

I may take a long time to call it done and sign my name at the bottom

“I am a strong person but every now and then I need someone to hold my hand and tell me everything will be alright.”

A beloved family pet must be put down, a new place of residence needs to be found, ex heartstrings strangle while current ones get cut, doubts about being the best mum possible rise like bile up the throat, and the stifling heat of summer that would have me push away a warm body lying next to me at night make me lament the lack of choice in the matter.

Despite the happiness palette I’m holding with one hand, the dam is leaking and I’m running out of fingers on the other.

My mum, the artist, invited me to paint with her.

First up on the work order was a good cup of tea, followed by a mighty brush warm up with Bob Ross, then on to the canvas. I discovered my mum, the artist, knows quite a lot about painting… and layers.

We chatted and in her beautiful way, she did most of the listening. She guided, made suggestions, and offered alternative brush strokes I could try.

My painting is not finished but my mum, the artist, tells me that stepping away from the canvas for a while gives clarity to possible next steps and that few masterpieces are one sitting creations.

Cliche metaphors I learned… if I don’t like the painting as it is, I can always add more layers or even grab a fresh canvas and start a new picture. Whatever I decide to do, it will be alright because while the finished product might bring joy to others, it’s the process of creating the artwork that brings me joy.

What I really learned… when my free hand was busy painting, I wasn’t able to plug the dam at all. And that was ok because when it leaked, there was someone there to hold my hand.

__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

I had aspirations of painting my imagined past lives across the canvas but chose a flower instead. You never know, I might have been a flower in another life.

Rating: Painting day (9 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 5 out of 5 (a cleared work schedule and an escape hatch in sight)
  • Twitch –
  • Happy hour – 4 out of 5 (frustrating when imagined talent does not translate to reality)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Stress relief.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

Leave a Reply

