Day 57-Happiness is … invisible & unheard until it’s gone

Standard

“That’s the difference between me and the rest of the world! Happiness isn’t good enough for me! I demand euphoria!”Calvin, In Literature/Calvin And Hobbes

Calvin and Hobbes

Calvin and Hobbes (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Your welcome.” Unnecessarily said in my head after making lunches & folding laundry without a thank you.

“Supper’s ready.” It feel like I’ve been muted because no-one seems to hear.

“Please clean up your stuff.” Once. Twice. Three times.

But…

Go into the washroom for 2 seconds and it’s “What’s the time? Where are my socks? I need a ride?”  I’m a clock, a clairvoyant, a chauffeur.

I’m absorbed into the background unless I’m gone. It is my absence that makes me visible.

When I get a migraine the pain can last for days but eventually it goes away. The absence of pain feels fantastic.

When there is something I am putting off, a nagging task, it blares unfelt needles, unheard horns, interfering with my productivity, holding back my sleep, barring my happiness from reaching full potential.

Finally, finally, I do something about the destructive background nagging that I didn’t realize I was ignoring, let alone being subjected to.

It might take hours, it might take minutes. I’ve put it off because I’m unsure or time poor or whatever other good excuse comes to mind. But then it is done.

And the absence of it is euphoric.

Tada! I did it 🙂

__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

“Action may not always bring happiness; but there is no happiness without action.”

– Benjamin Disraeli

Rating: Complete a nagging task  day (7 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 2 out of 5 (There was a good reason I’d been putting it off…honestly)
  • Twitch – unfelt and unheard but definitely visible
  • Happy hour – 5 out of 5 (what a relief)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Wedding.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

