Day 60-Happiness is … goodbye

Standard

Everything will be alright in the end. If it’s not alright, it’s not the end.” -John Lennon

Fall down, laugh, get back up

Have you ever stood at the edge of your emotional cliff and wanted to jump?
Teetering on the edge of falling in love but afraid of getting hurt…slipping on the sludge of hatred and fighting to stay upright…staring into the darkness of depression and welcoming the nothingness…dabbling your toes at the shore of happiness – just your toes-because immersing yourself completely would make things too painful when the happiness dries up.
And it will. Everything ends. Every hello is a postponement of the inevitable goodbye. Every single thing that starts will end.
For the things in life I view as negative, this is a great thing. For the positive things, I instantly start trying to think of ways to delay the ending. I can’t. I have limited control over the quality of the experience and perhaps even the timing of the end, but resisting the fact that it will end only diminishes the joy of now.
The flip side of knowing that everything ends is knowing that there is always something new beginning. Perhaps a positive thing ends and marks the start of a negative thing. This is not ideal, but if I know it is going to end, I can face it. And when a new positive starts I can enjoy and appreciate it more while it lasts because I know there is an expiration date. I don’t know the exact date so each moment has to be precious.
The worst criticism I ever faced was, “You never finish anything you start.” Perhaps there is a part of me trying to take back control over when the ending happens so I speed it up, but finishing and ending are different things.
While endings are guaranteed, expected even, finishing is not. Finishing is completion; running something through to its natural end point. Ending something when it is finished is satisfying. Ending something before it is finished leads to regret and unhappiness.
This blog will end one day… when it is finished. I may not be perfect, I may fall, but I will finish.
Hello 🙂
__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

If every hello is a goodbye waiting to happen, then every goodbye is a hello that’s just around the corner.

Rating: Restarting day ( 5 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 2 out of 5 (excited to finish this happiness mission; concerned about the time investment)
  • Twitch – Hello twitch
  • Happy hour – 3 out of 5 (Writing is harder when you’re out of practice)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Wedding day….  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Day 61-Happiness is … imperfect « 365waystobehappy

  2. Pingback: Day 82 – Happiness is … wabi sabi « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

