Day 61-Happiness is … a never ending circle

Standard

“How can a woman be expected to be happy with a man who insists on treating her as if she were a perfectly normal human being.”

“A man can be happy with any woman, as long as he does not love her.”

– Oscar Wilde

I was supposed to go to a wedding reception. It was going to be a family reunion of sorts. It was next on the happiness task list before I fell off my emotional cliff.I had a trip planned and in the grand way of plans it all fell apart. As did some other aspects of my life. But that’s the past…

Fast forward 2 months and I’m at my  high school reunion… (where past catches future and we pray the fashions haven’t come full circle yet.)

Nothing is a bigger deterrent to happiness than people ‘in love’ when you are unwillingly out of the club. And yet, chatting with a school chum who was fresh into the throes lightened me. He couldn’t stop talking about her … and smiling. His energy was infectious, though it made me wonder when I was last the cause of such happiness, or would be again…

We lunched the next day and discussed the proposal plan (which, by the time of this writing, I assume has been executed), and whether he should bring the ring to Paris or buy it there. Yes… much to the astonishment of the entire impromptu planning committee,  he had to ask if Paris was the right place to pop the question.

Now I’ve never been proposed to (how I managed to get married without a proposal is a story for another day), but I would imagine that if you’re in love and wanting to get married then Paris is a decent enough spot for memory making. I voted yes.

Another highlight of the reunion was seeing my English teacher, a woman who inspired me to be a better horse woman and a better writer. Her comment that I was her favourite writer brought mountains of guilt toppling down from the carefully crafted stack of ignored brain bugs I’d been collecting… “You should be writing, you should be blogging, you should be happier.”

So the blog that should have happened next (instead of no blogging at all) was a wedding and family reunion. Coming full circle with a reunion and a wedding seems only fitting… and if the ring fits…

__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

No matter how much you care for someone, trying to convince them to love you back will never make you happy; it takes two smiles to make a full circle.

Rating: Go to a wedding day (7 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 3 out of 5 (Was fairly excited for my high school reunion…not sure why exactly)
  • Twitch – I do! (still have it)
  • Happy hour – 4 out of 5 (reunion was ok, but witnessing full circle love smiles was happiness)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Catch Up Day.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Day 86 – Happiness is … King Kong, but cuter « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

