Day 76 – Happiness is … magic waiting to happen

Standard

“Happiness is the harvest of a quiet eye.”~ Austin O’Malley

In the Far East, there is a tree called the Chinese bamboo tree. While most trees grow steadily over a period of years, the Chinese bamboo tree doesn’t break through the ground for the first four years. Then, in the fifth year, an amazing thing happens – the tree begins to grow at an astonishing rate. In fact, in a period of just five weeks, a Chinese bamboo tree can grow to a height of 90 feet.

600 year old tree…English, not Chinese

65 happiness tasks and only 5 months ago, I planted some magic beans. Today I harvested 6 tiny, green cherry tomatoes that now sit on my windowsill in an attempt to ripen.

Holding a seed in your hand is like holding magic. Holding 6 green cherry tomatoes in your hand is like holding an unappetizing snack so I also harvested the grocery store for all the things I didn’t grow this year. Along with a clean kitchen, I also enjoy a stocked fridge.

My body is particularly unforgiving in its insistence that I eat healthy food however. For the first time in my adult life, I live somewhere that allows me to drive 2 minutes and have access to all the things I forgot when I went grocery shopping, so when I discovered an empty milk carton in the fridge, instead of decreeing the next day a toast and eggs breakfast day with earl grey tea (earl grey should never be taken with milk), I drove to the store and bought milk. I was giddy at this extravagance and treated my self to some store-bought cookies as well.

Holding cookies and milk in my hands is like, totally irresistible dude! I had two 🙂 And in the middle of the night I had a migraine. Too much ‘bad fat’, chocolate, red wine, lack of sleep, lack of exercise, stress…the list of triggers grows as I age so that I now cannot drink too much alcohol, eat store-bought crap, chocolate or cheese. I must get 8-10 hours of sleep each night, exercise at least once every 3 days, and find ways to stay relaxed.

I always believed that my lifestyle would plant seeds for my children to also be active and turn their nose up at soda. I’ve watered those seeds for many years without a harvest… until this fall. Without warning, my bamboo tree broke ground and both of my children have begun asking for guidance in exercise and reaching fitness goals. Plus, I have 6 tiny green cherry tomatoes.

Buoyed by this success, I plan to grow a lush potted garden on my windowsill from which culinary sensations shall burst, medicinal migraine cures will be discovered, and many teas will be brewed. HERBS!

 __________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

All of us have a Bamboo tree somewhere inside us. 

Rating:  Harvest  day (8 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 4 out of 5 (6 tomatoes! I can choose disappointment or excitement at this harvest)
  • Twitch – lab tests done! results pending…
  • Happy hour – 4 out of 5 (one point lost for a migraine)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Good parenting.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Day 87 – Happiness is … a 5am wake up call « 365waystobehappy

  2. Pingback: Day 95 vs 112- Happiness is … co-ordinated packing « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

