Day 78 – Happiness is … matching tops and bottoms

Standard

“Happiness is an allegory, unhappiness a story.”- Tolstoy

All expense paid retreat… 2 days, 3 nights… coastal views and newly built accommodations… beautifully prepared meals… complimentary welcome wine… professional fitness instruction… I love my job

This is a yearly YMCA instructor ‘retreat’ that I attend along with hundreds of other Y volunteers and while we did get to stay in newly built bunk houses which were a huge step up from the old cabins, I still think ‘retreat’ is a misleading term for the ‘put us through our paces non-stop boot camps (aka training) that we love to hate. 🙂

They say happiness makes for a boring story… a chartered bus with a driver that looked like a cross between Einstein and a Hells angel mobster and ran a red light less than 5 minutes before reaching our destination is much more entertaining than carpooling and stopping at Lulu Lemon along the way… greasy burgers and wilted caesar salad on a fitness retreat is much more interesting than mouth-watering meals… sharing sleeping quarters with a bat & out house facilities is far more noteworthy than bathrooms with heated floors.

Each year this annual training weekend has its story making moments and it’s happily boring moments, but for me, the highlight this year was the great underwear debate.

Men boxer underwear

Men boxer underwear (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A 4 hour bus ride followed by lugging sleeping bag and luggage to walk a on ferry ‘cruise’ can lack a certain element of fun, so I decided to create my own. I surveyed my traveling partners (over 25 women and one lucky man), about happiness. This is what I learned…

Question 1 – What activity do you do to make yourself happy?

The results of this question might be skewed as I was polling a group of fitness instructors, but the overwhelming answer was… exercise! At least that is the PG version I’m posting 🙂

Question 2 – What is a happy smell?

Most unique answer… a combination of perfume & coffee. Most specific answer… freshly rained on cedar. Most common answers… vanilla, baking or sea air.

Question 3 – What is a happy colour?

Lime green was mentioned a lot as were various names for pink or purple.

Question 4 – What is a happy word?

This one caused trouble but ‘freedom’ was the word that stuck out.

Question 5 – Where is a happy place?

Overwhelmingly happiness is found at home or by the water. If you’re lucky enough to have a home on the water, I guess you are set!

Is anyone still reading or are you stuck at the underwear… 🙂 I’m sure you’re thinking, “That’s all dandy but where does an underwear debate come into it?” The truth is I can’t remember how it became a part of the survey but by the time our bus got to the ferry terminal, we had all heard more than we needed to about our underwear secrets.

The sixth unintended and unedited question to the happiness survey …”Do you wear underwear when you work out?”

Unfortunately there is a strict code to these ‘retreats’ that what happens on the bus, stays on the bus, so I am unable to share most of the results. However, when I polled our driver, he responded, “I don’t workout.” I feel I can share that answer 🙂

I will also divulge that my one and only OCD tendency is that my bra and underwear must match no matter what and at all costs. This plays a role in my decision to wear underwear or not when working out and became quite a happy little debate.

What about you… care to share…?

 __________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

I don’t have OCD… I have CDO. It’s like OCD but all the letters are in alphabetical order…as they should be.

Rating:  Survey day (10 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 5 out of 5 (I love the opportunity and the camaraderie of this retreat)
  • Twitch – survey says…yes
  • Happy hour – 5 out of 5 (despite the bus toilet, I still give this day a 5)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Learn.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Day 79 – Happiness is … never giving up « 365waystobehappy

  2. Pingback: Day 80 – Happiness is … an illuminated swan « 365waystobehappy

  3. Pingback: Day 94 vs 111- Happiness is … unmentionable flagrant frivolity « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

