Day 82 – Happiness is … wabi sabi

Standard

“Now and then it’s good to pause in our pursuit of happiness and just be happy.”
― Guillaume Apollinaire

Is it terrible that when I write out that list of effective happiness tasks and think, “How much more could one person cram into a weekend?”, my first thought is, “If only I’d _______.”

Big cities are an acquired taste

Traveled in good weather to a different city, stayed in a hotel, listened to a J.K. Rowling interview on CBC, attended a writing conference, met up with friends I hadn’t seen for a while, made a new friend, got a chance to write, rest, workout, network, learn, teach, play… and it only cost $80 for the whole happiness overload weekend.

The truth is I enjoyed my weekend fully. It is only in the aftermath that I look back and see where improvements could have been made and isn’t that what we do with any experience? Isn’t that called learning in every other aspect of life?

One could argue I am not appreciating what I have, but on the other hand, by rebuking myself for the ‘if only’ thought, I am not accepting myself for who I am… a visionary ‘anything is possible’ superhuman with an allergy to mediocre.

Sounds so much better than hard to please and never satisfied huh?

It all comes down to wabi sabi… nothing lasts, nothing is finished, nothing is perfect. . My weekend didn’t last, but I loved every moment. My weekend is finished in the sense that it is no longer the weekend, but it is not finished in the sense that I am still learning from it. My weekend wasn’t perfect, but I wasn’t trying to make it perfect; I was trying to ignore the issue of happiness altogether.

And I did. It was a perfect wabi sabi weekend.

__________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

I love wasabi.

Rating:  Do It All day (8 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 5 out of 5 (Very excited about the day… and happy the pre-trip organizing is over)
  • Twitch –  maybe I should try a cucumber wasabi eye mask
  • Happy hour –  5 out of 5 (better than I’d imagined…despite the lack of horse riding)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Write.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

One response »

  1. Pingback: The Illusion of Perfection | merlinspielen

Leave a Reply

