Day 86 – Happiness is … like King Kong, but cuter

Standard

“Don’t waste a minute being unhappy. If one window closes – run to the next window- or break down a door.” – unknown

I didn’t know doors had a preference but it made me smile…like King Kong, but cuter.

Johari’s Window – a simple model for improving self-awareness. Created by two guys named Joe and Harry. Joe + Harry = Johari.

Excuse me while I take a tangent detour… BHAG*, (pronounced BEE-hag), or Big Hairy Audacious Goal. (Gold star if have you followed the path my brain took to reach this detour.)

I enjoy acronyms in general, and while this one initially annoyed me because a ‘b’ and an ‘h’ should not be put together like that in the English language, I love the word ‘audacious’ and I double love the intention of the thing.

snoopy

BHAG’s – Big Hairy Audacious Goals – like King Kong, but cuter

Not only do you have a goal – that’s a pretty cool thing in itself – but you have a BIG goal. Because if you’re going to have a goal, you might as well make it a big one. And if you have a big goal, it will no doubt be audacious when you achieve it – not just awesome or merely amazing – frickin’ AUDACIOUS. But let’s be honest – the doing of it is no doubt going to get HAIRY – do it anyway.

So there it is… a perfectly summed up zip file of life. Just hearing the phrase makes me want to have one (a life and a bhag), makes me romanticize the tear spilling, knee scraping, OMG stop the world I want to get off journey, makes me start the list of thank you’s for the acceptance speech I will give when I’m as shiny as a survivor jury member, makes me want to fling the glasses from my face & rip the buttons from my shirt to reveal the Superwoman lurking under the normal human being facade…

…and fly out a window or break down a door to battle my obstacles. Aaaand we’re back –

Johari’s window provides 56 adjectives and asks you to pick 5 or 6 that describe you. You then ask your friends to do the same. The results highlight the qualities you hide from the world, the ones that you wear like a badge of honour, and the ones you are blind to but others see. So far, some of my Johari window blind spots are bold, brave and powerful – like Superwoman?

Life is a BHAG. Suit up.

My avatar alter ego

My bold, brave and powerful avatar alter ego… like King Kong, but cuter.

______________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

STPC – Friends and I have come up with a few things this acronym could stand for in relation to personal training. What can you come up with?

*BHAG, like Johari’s window, was also created by two guys – Jim and Jerry. Joe and Harry created the window thing. Three J names and a rhyme…must mean absolutely nothing.

Rating:  Johari Window Day (8 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 4 out of 5 (love these silly analysis things)
  • Twitch – the twitch is in the arena…everyone can see it
  • Happy hour –  4 out of 5 (had to do the Johari as an add on to the day as I was too busy enjoying the company of the people who think I’m bold, brave* and powerful  – *being told I was brave made me cry , but in a cute way 🙂

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Get Up Early.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

