Day 88 vs 105- Happiness is … shopping in heaven

Standard

In order to combat the staggering out-of-dateness of my blog, I shall be writing two happiness tasks per blog. My present day task along side the next task I should be writing about. Eventually I’ll be up-to-date 🙂

Tada!

Tada!

Window Shopping Day 88 – “Whoever said money can’t buy happiness simply didn’t know where to go shopping.  ~Bo Derek

My teenage daughter has been teaching me patience… and a few other things…

A vintage used clothing store is where I learned my teenage daughter  has great taste.

A new age store with fortune tellers waiting to pounce in the doorway is where I learned she wants to create her own future.

An eclectic brick-a-brack is where I learned she makes me laugh.

Stop ,listen and donate to the street artists… my teenage daughter is compassionate.

A coffee shop break is where I learned she can turn heads.

An antique store is where I discovered she knows how to learn from the past.

Window shopping with my teenage daughter is when I learned we are still great friends.

Have Faith Day 105 – “Optimist: person who travels on nothing from nowhere to happiness.” ~ Mark Twain

It did cross my mind that the end of the world would simplify my Christmas shopping, but when Australia made it to the 22nd I decided not to eat a whole cheesecake and spend my savings on a Boooosailboat. I did have a paper bag handy to put over my head just in case.

Technically the world should have ended 7 months ago as the Mayans did not take leap year into account (apparently), so in a leap of faith I went ahead and bought Christmas presents. It did make me rethink the whole concept of ‘live like there’s no tomorrow’, but in the end I decided it’s all fine and dandy until there is a tomorrow and you don’t know your port from your starboard.

With resolution season coming up, however, I have decided there are some bucket list items that need attention. Sign language. Playing the piano. Australia may have to wait but a different ocean shore and a polar bear swim doesn’t. Next apocalypse I’m definitely getting a sailboat.

______________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

Just like Goldman Sachs, I love the Muppets. 

Rating:  Window shopping Day (9 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 4 out of 5
  • Twitch – sticks with me like it was bought and paid for
  • Happy hour –  5 out of 5

Rating:  Have faith Day (7 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 3 out of 5 (last minute Christmas shopping is not on my list of fun
  • Twitch – would the twitch end if the world ended?
  • Happy hour –  4 out of 5 (excited about my sailboat)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Read & Discover.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Day 94 vs 111- Happiness is … unmentionable flagrant frivolity « 365waystobehappy

  2. Pingback: Day 96 vs 113- Happiness is … a magic carpet ride with friends « 365waystobehappy

Leave a Reply

