Day 91 vs 108- Happiness is … cultured rubbish

Standard

Happiness Experiment: Voyeurism and Panto Plays

In order to combat the staggering out-of-dateness of my blog, I shall be writing two happiness tasks per blog. My present day task along side the next task I should be writing about. Eventually I’ll be up-to-date 🙂

tada

tada

Voyeurism Day 91 – “..clear colors have a vital effect on our mental happiness. Modern doctors and psychiatrists are convinced of this! ~ Dorothy Draper

As a child it was a Christmas Eve tradition to drive around town looking for the prettiest light displays. If we were lucky we’d see a perfect cultured tree twinkling in the window, a tantalizing tidbit that made me want to see the rest of this magical house.

As an adult, I’ve had that perfect cultured tree. It really wasn’t as big a thrill as I’d imagined. Granted mine was covered in macaroni ornaments and popcorn strings from my children and most of the decorations were only as high as their little arms could reach, but it turns out that perfect trees aren’t a magical memory making ingredient after all.

A magical moment

A magical Christmas memory… 1/2 way across the world for a surprise visit… but had to stop at the pub first

BUT, these days you can have the complete voyeur experience – wandering through other people’s homes and seeing more than just a tree in the window. Sounds exciting, right? Well, I wouldn’t know because these plans were thwarted by family functions. So while I was busy celebrating birthdays for nephews and other assorted munchkins, I wasn’t on a Christmas tour of professionally designed homes.

Instead of Martha Stewart sugarplum visions I have all these magical moments stuck in my memory… 🙂

Panto Day 107 – “Play the moments, pause the memories, stop the pain, rewind the happiness.” ~ unknown

The Rules:

Ready for the play :) Rubbish!

Ready for the play 🙂 Rubbish!

  1. Cheer for the hero.
  2. Boo at the villain.
  3. Warn the hero when the villain is approaching.
  4. Pick a side and make a case for it.

Sounds like good life rules, doesn’t it?

Pantomime is an English Christmas play tradition for the whole family so I couldn’t resist introducing my children to a piece of their heritage when a Panto came to town last Christmas. This is full on silliness with a side of audience participation.

How silly is it?

It is so silly we went again this year 🙂

Oh no you didn’t…

Oh yes we did…

Oh no you didn’t…

Oh yes we did…

___________________________________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

There is always a fairy in the panto to spread a little magic.

Rating:  Voyeurism Day (6 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 2 out of 5 (Disappointed as I knew I wouldn’t be going on the homes tour)
  • Twitch – wanna see?
  • Happy hour –  4 out of 5 (Can’t beat magical moments)

Rating:  Panto Day (10 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 5 out of 5 (We’ve started a new tradition 🙂
  • Twitch – oh yes it is… oh no it isn’t… oh yes it is!
  • Happy hour –  5 out of 5 (Absolute rubbish!)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Celebrate and Be Alone.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

One response »

  1. Traditions! Not completed this year as we didn’t go and see the lights. Next Year ! The Panto, great fun and hearing the kids laugh, worth a million!

Leave a comment