Day 95 vs 112- Happiness is … co-ordinated packing

Standard

Happiness Experiment: Juggle and buy into Less is More

In order to combat the staggering out-of-dateness of my blog, I shall be writing two happiness tasks per blog. My present day task along side the next task I should be writing about. Eventually I’ll be up-to-date 🙂

Tada2

Juggle Day 95 – ” I’m happy when I’m juggling, but I feel like I’ve gone from, like, 3 balls to 10 bowling balls. But, that’s a good problem. I don’t really have a complaint about that.” ~ Kirstie Alley

My son is learning to juggle in school. I’m not sure what section of the curriculum this falls under but I know I won’t be much help with homework… co-ordination being one of the things I did not line up for on skills day.

My first experience with baseball at the age of 7 set my dislike of team sports into motion as I just couldn’t handle letting everyone else down. Against my better judgement, I did give softball a go as an adult and managed to get a black eye, a fat lip and a bloody nose from catching a fly ball with my face.

I'm much better at individual sports :)

I’m much better at individual sports 🙂

In high school, team sports were non-optional. But as with migraines, I have learned to accept my handicap as a blessing.

Soccer is the sport that taught me to appreciate a full set of teeth (because I almost lost them trying to kick the ball with my lips).

Volleyball is the sport that taught me to appreciate nerd status after the many narrowly missed concussions from spiked weaponry.

Lacrosse just made me appreciate life on earth for one more day and rugby… well, I still have nightmares about those torpedo missiles so I suppose rugby made me appreciate a good night’s sleep.

Now juggling may be an individual sport but you can see how the idea of balls in the air would put me off.

Stubbornness is a skill I got in line for twice though. I have invested in some bean bags. Two of them. One for me and one for my son… the apple of my eye.

Less is More Day 112 – “5 Rules of happiness 1. Don’t Hate 2. Don’t Worry 3. Give More 4. Expect Less 5. Live Simply.” ~ unknown

The day before my 6am flight: not being a details kindof gal, this is the day I discovered that my passport has expired, but as I was traveling within country, I dealt with this discovery by skiing. After all, I have a beibered ski day to make up for in my blog and I couldn’t live with myself if I didn’t deliver to the masses that read it (#3 Give More :))

I learned that goggles make me seasick. I learned that easiest way down a diamond run is on my back. I also learned that, like wine, I improve with age. Ok that’ a stretch but my co-ordination learning curve is improving somewhat. (#4 Expect Less)

Returning after a long day at the ski hill left me with little time for laundry, ticket printing and packing. (#2 Don’t Worry)

I ate some leftovers (#5 Live Simply), and set 3 alarms – even for a within country flight you need to be at the airport 60 minutes ahead of time which would mean I’d need to get up at 4 am (#1 Don’t Hate)

You also have to wear most of your clothing in order to avoid overweight baggage charges, so I put rule #6 into practice… Travel Lightly.

x country skiing - a simpler time

x country skiing – a simpler time

_____________________________________________________________

So…it has come to this !

Once I master skiing and juggling, I’m going to do both at the same time.

Rating:  Juggle Day (5 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 2 out of 5 (flying balls scare me)
  • Twitch –without skipping a beat
  • Happy hour –  3 out of 5 (less is more when it comes to juggling as well)

Rating:  Less Is More Day (8 out of 10)

  • Itchy feet – 3 out of 5 (packing is bad enough; thinking about how to pack lightly is worse…excited about going though)
  • Twitch – not less – more
  • Happy hour –  5 out of 5 (more for the skiing than the packing)

What the heck does all that mean, you ask? Read Itchy Feet Explained.

Tomorrow: Be Vicarious and Fly.  Use the calendar to view my happiness tasks for each day along with a brief description of the task and why I chose it.

2 responses »

Leave a comment